Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
General Chat
First Painting In Four Years!!
Pictures
May 17 2008
07:04:35 AM
I don't know if any of y'all are interested. Outside of family, I've only shown this to Mandy. Her comments bolstered my courage. Back when I was exhibiting at wildlife art shows, I would share my paintings with thousands of people a weekend - but this is different. Frankly, I was chicken to show anyone.

Most of you know that I was a professional wildlife artist until MS (multiple sclerosis) brought that to a screeching halt 4 years ago. I lost control of my right side for a bit, and was unable to walk, let alone paint. My right arm and hand still spasm outta the blue (kinda like when you're falling asleep, and your leg jerks). Both of my arms, legs, hands, feet, and upper back are asleep. So, I didn't have the guts to try to paint again under those conditions. I can't feel the brush, so I have to paint with my one good eye. The right one is toast from the MS.

Well, I designed a huge studio in the house that my husband and I built. I finished painting it and decorating it with all of my reference materials. There was nothing left to do but try it out! So I gave it a shot. At one point, my arm did spasm, and I flipped my paintbrush across the studio. I just cracked up laughing, retrieved my brush, and fixed the boo boo. What was I afraid of?

Anyhow, this is a 20" x 16" oil painting entitled "Facing Her Reflection". It took months to paint it because I average 3 or 4 hours per square inch.

A close up:

As Mandy says "Please be kind". I'm a little insecure about this.

Default, miscellaneous
May 17 2008
09:43:34 AM
sunnypanda Super Glider 211 Posts
That is gorgeous! It makes me want one of your paintings.
Default, miscellaneous
May 17 2008
10:28:02 AM
kazko Little Bunny FooFoo GliderMap Gliderpedia Editor Visit kazko's Photo Album kazko's Journal TX, USA 6747 Posts