Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
Possible pregnancy?
Possible pregnancy?
Joeys, birth, parenthood
Apr 12 2014
06:58:13 AM
I'm brand new to this form so bare with me! I'm adopting a pair of sugar gliders the 21st. They are three years old and were used for breeding. The mother (lotus) is having her Joey weaned the 20th. I'm having the father (Zero) neutered May 12th. What I have learned from the breeder that they have had 8 joeys so far. They are fed the HPW diet, and I will continue feeding them that. My question is what is the possibility that they have another Joey between now and the 12th of May? If they do breed it is ok, I just would like some advice on what to do if she does get pregnant. I know that their diet needs to be altered if pregnant, and to not handle the mother. Are they ok to be separated for the day and night when Zero gets neutered?
Joeys, birth, parenthood
Apr 12 2014
09:07:53 AM
Rasaphane Super Glider Visit Rasaphane's Photo Album SC, USA 259 Posts
They'll be fine as long as they don't have joeys out of pouch. IF they have joeys out of pouch both parents are needed to take care of the joeys and then it might be too late and the female could be pregnant again. So I would go ahead and get it done during the day. Most vets will have the boys in and out and ready to go back to their cage mates same day.

That and 8 joeys, phew... seems like the female is ready to retire. That's a lot of babies
Joeys, birth, parenthood
Apr 12 2014
09:30:13 AM
Minnesota Zoo Fuzzy Wuzzy Visit Minnesota Zoo's Photo Album USA 1999 Posts
Congrats on you future Suggie parenthood and Welcome to GG!

Yes, having Dad neutered as soon as possible is best, there is a chance they could mate again and you may have 1-2 more joeys coming.