Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
Trouble with a Chewer!!!
Trouble with a Chewer!!!
News
Apr 16 2014
03:43:28 PM
So apparently I have a Chewer. I am new to the Sugar Glider world and I need some help. I have a cage that it a little too large for my babies so I put mesh around and it worked great for a week or so until I walked into my gliders room and found the place trashed. Apparently they had a party I wasn't invited too. At least they were clever enough to jump back in their sleeping pouch and act like nothing happen. Anyway I keep repairing and every night I find a new hole. So My question is what kind of mesh can I use that he can't wiggle through or chew through?
News
Apr 16 2014
05:03:36 PM
Kimalynn Starting Member 4 Posts
Hmm, i have a chewer too. The only thing that kept her from chewing her water bottle among other things was to give her something else to chew on. so i bought her this long plastic rope thingy with little charms on it and melted a little bit of yogurt treats on it to attract her to it. Eventually she stopped chewing on other things and kept it to particular toys. Find something really durable, like a rubbery plastic toy they can't chew through and put something sweet on it. they'll learn to associate the sweet taste with that toy being okay to chew on. dont overdo the treats though. lol
News
Apr 16 2014
06:10:16 PM
chips2013 Glider Visit chips2013's Photo Album NJ, USA 127 Posts
Mine a chewers too. I give them my caps from my water bottles or straws and they go to town. I bought wiggle balls and stuck straws and pieces of fleece and treats inside and they just pull it apart. Keeps them busy for hours every night. I change the colors of things or treats and they just love it. It is the best toy I have for them. And it cost me about $3 to make :)
News
Apr 16 2014
06:12:46 PM
chips2013 Glider Visit chips2013's Photo Album NJ, USA 127 Posts