Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
Should I be worried?
Should I be worried?
Food, Diet
Apr 17 2014
01:57:46 PM
Should I be worried? This is my first time owning a sugar glider and he is almost a week of eating regular food. The problem is he will only eat apples. He won't touch anything else I give him. I want to make sure he is getting a complete diet. Is this normal for such a young sugar glider? And will his diet change over time and grow to like the types of protein I give him? His health seems to be perfect his poop is normal and regular and he's almost fully potty trained! He's doing wonderful for his age. But I'm worried he's not getting the nutrition he needs.

Also he does not have any interest in water. He won't drink from a dish or a bottle. I know he gets hydration from the apples but is that normal to not want to drink water and if not how do I get him to want to drink. I out water in my finger and put it to his mouth and tried many times to show him the water and he just moves his head out of the way. If someone with a similar problem and knows how to help me I'd be very happy.

I've done an extensive amount of research so my little guy gets everything he needs but I would like some help from people with experience. Thank you!
Food, Diet
Apr 17 2014
03:19:27 PM
shannonlcorum Face Hugger Visit shannonlcorum's Photo Album 538 Posts
You stumped me at potty trained because gliders can't be potty trained. We can be trained to stimulate them to go when they first get up, but trust me, when they need to go, they will. Even if it's on your favorite shirt, or work clothes.

Try putting a little apple juice in the water. What else are you feeding besides apples? Your glider needs to be on one of the staple diets. BML, HPW, Gliderkids, etc.--pick one that works for you. You can find out more about diets in the gliderpedia link above.