Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
doesn't want to eat anything but apples
Food, Diet
Nov 24 2014
10:01:30 PM
Ok, so I'm new to sugar gliders. I tried doing a lot of research and couldn't find anything on this. But I purchased a young glider, at most 2 weeks out the pouch. He or she is very small and all I seem to be able to get her to eat are apples. I have the protein powder I made for her. I put the calcium powder in her pellet food. I even put frozen meal worms out for her. All she wants are apples. The pet store told me to get her Pedialyte as a water replacement until it grows more and stays hydrated. I don't know what to do. Maybe just leave the normal good in her cage and not put any apples in there? I don't know any advice will help .
Food, Diet
Nov 24 2014
10:50:59 PM
Candy Cuddle Bear Visit Candy's Photo Album FL, USA 8110 Posts
Welcome to the forum and to glider parenthood.

I really do hope your joey is more than 2 weeks OOP. That is WAY TOO YOUNG to have been separated from her mother. If she is 2 weeks OOP, she should still be nursing and is not yet ready to eat or digest solid foods. Joeys should remain with the parents until they are at least 8 to 10 weeks OOP. Joeys usually do not begin to eat solid foods until 5 to 6 weeks OOP when they follow their parents to the food dish.

Please post a picture of your glider with something in the photo for a size reference so we can tell if she really is that young. A weight in grams using a kitchen scale would also help us estimate her age.

You need to feed her as if she is a rejected joey if she really is only 2 weeks OOP.

Here is the information on the care of rejected joeys for you to read.

http://suzsugargliders.com/handraisingajoey.htm

If your glider is this young, you must also keep her warm - keep her on you as much as possible. You may also need to stimulate the joey to pee and poop.