Sugar Gliders
Help!
Next |
Page: of 3
Help!
Health related
Apr 05 2015
02:23:43 PM
I'm new to the sugar glider family. I got my first two maybe a year or so ago and I've done so much research. I make their food - Bml mix. I give them spring water. I clean the cage often. I bond with them and they have toys and an exercise wheel. I got back from a two night vacation last night and immediately came to visit my gliders and noticed ones arm looked kind of funny. I told my boyfriend I thought something was wrong and he insisted otherwise. In trying to remove him from his pouch we discovered that his foot was hooked and twisted and I tried to stay calm but started shaking and we worked it off. He was really dehydrated and lethargic so I wrapped him up and called the vet and they suggested sugar water. Our vet isn't very experienced and I believe our nearest one that might be is an hour away. He only took so much (my mother pushed it) but I continued to give him regular water and later some water with a little apple juice in it. He ate maybe half a cube once it thawed out. I was feeling pretty good about it and thought that he was going to be okay. Nonetheless, I stayed up all night holding him and at one time be was really moving. He just couldn't move his back leg. Around 330 am he had been sleeping for a while and wouldn't take anything but I figured he would be exhausted anyway, so I held him and dozed off for a second because next time I looked in the blanket he was gone. I found him within a couple minutes. He was in the couch just looking at me when I found him. He was awake and doing alright. I folded his baby blanket much like his parachute bed and held him. He seemed like he does when he's just not wanting to be bothered or just tired and with it being easter I can't get him to the vet until Monday. I was going to, despite the price and I looked up the number to the vet and right before I was about to call I looked at him and noticed he just didn't look right and