Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
question about introductions
Question
May 26 2015
05:27:50 PM
So I have never done introductions before. And my gliders are not ready for it yet but I would love some advice. I have read some horror stories about introductions going wrong. I know that if at any point the gliders ball up and fight, it is my job to pull them apart. AND I AM OK with doing that no matter what blind bites I receive, My question is.. Is there anything I can use that helps? Like if I throw fleece over one and then pull them apart? Or idk? I know that when dogs fight people say to spray them with water? I wouldn't want to spray any animal with water, that isn't what I am trying to say, that was just an example.Is there something that I don't know about that would help them to stop fighting as well as me separating them? I really am nervous about them liking each other. My Girl is the sweetest has been from day one. And then we just got a new male and female. We are getting the male fixed before attempting to introduce him to our single female. and then after they have been introduced and are good to go we will attempt to introduce the new female to the male and original female. But like I stated we aren't ready for all that yet they're still in quarantine and male needs to be nurtured. I just would like to know some tips/tricks for fighting gliders. Thank you all for your time. Have a great one!
Question
May 26 2015
05:31:39 PM
Smash0196 Glider Visit Smash0196's Photo Album Smash0196's Journal Canada 123 Posts
Gliders mostly bond with scent so if you switch the pouches and get them used to each other's scent, you have a better chance of avoiding a fight.
I have two pairs that only interact during out of cage play because the two males fight. To keep them familiar with each other without keeping them in the same cage, I switch their nest boxes.