Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
first time glider owner, 4 year old sugar bear
Rescue
Aug 03 2015
12:02:36 AM
I just took on a little sugar bear named Bandit. he's 4 years old and he's my first; therefore I'm extremely new to this. I've searched almost every website to learn how to be the best mommy I can be and this seems like the best place for the answers I'm looking for.
I wanted to know some foods that my little man can and cannot eat. I know the basics but I'm not sure what fruit and veggies are a no no.
I've had him for 4 days now and he's getting adjusted to me, I know what his sounds mean so I know our boundaries. he's kinda chunky for a glider I've notice and I was wondering how I could get him down to a healthier weight safely. I want the best for him and I want to keep him happy and healthy.
any tips or advice wether it's on food or bonding I'd love any feedback. THANK YOU!! much love!
Rescue
Aug 03 2015
08:17:30 AM
Blue Nostalgic Fuzzy Wuzzy Visit Blue Nostalgic's Photo Album 1422 Posts
Here is a comprehensive list of the safe and toxic foods: https://sites.google.com/site/oakleysglidersite/safe-and-toxic-foods-list

You're right, this site has such a wealth of information that has been compiled over the years into the Gliderpedia. There are also always good folks here in the forum to help out with specific questions.

Congratulations on your little guy. A couple questions. At 4 years old...has he always been a lone glider? How did you acquire him? If he's a little chunky do you know what diet he was eating before he came to your home? They can get heavy even on a good diet, but many times it is due to poor diets. In that regard, have you gone through the recommended diets and found one that you will be using?

You're already doing a good job, wanting them happy and healthy is key!