GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
New glider mom - quick questions!
Behavior
Jan 25 2017
05:26:31 PM
Hey everyone!

I'm new to the sugar glider world, but tried to read up on everything I could before I purchased my babies! I just wanted to run by with all things I've noticed that I haven't been able to find the answer to online.

First, I got my baby girl, Neela, 10 weeks OOP and 2 weeks later got my baby boy, Nappa, 10 weeks OOP 2 weeks later. I've had them roughly for a month now.

My first two questions are behavior related:

1. Neela was very and kinda still is skittish, but has come a long way in bonding for such a short time. Randomly, when we have our nightly tent time she will run up to one of my fingers and bite hard. It's a painful one time bite and then she will run back up my to my shoulder. She doesn't crab anymore like she did in the very beginning so I'm not sure it is related to fear and she comes to great me and my fiancé in the morning. I'm not sure why she does this.

2. Nappa is the opposite of Neela in that he is not shy. He crabbed only on the first day and then was all over the place with us. With him he will come up to my hand, lick it all over, graze it with his teeth and then occasionally nip. I'm curious if this is grooming. He also does this adorable thing where he will run to a corner of the tent and then put his front arms back and to his side and then slide forward on his tummy (imagine a penguin sliding down a hill). Just curious to know what that behavior is as well. Maybe marking his scent?

3. What is the diet you feed your gliders and if you have a link for that specific diet. What works best for you?

Thank you!
Behavior
Jan 25 2017
07:21:29 PM
TJones09 Goofy Gorillatoes Visit TJones09's Photo Album 3524 Posts
To do the best I can to answer your questions with possible reasons.