Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
Type of Glider Question
Type of Glider Question
Question
Feb 23 2017
11:56:57 PM
Hello, My question is what makes a 100% leuistic glider ?
I am new to understanding this all so please it in simple terms. my new baby glider I was told she is a white 100% Leucistic.
What does that mean ?

Lily my almost 14 week glider I found out is a white mosic what does that mean also thank you
Question
Feb 24 2017
06:45:11 AM
Leela Goofy Gorillatoes Gliderpedia Editor Visit Leela's Photo Album Leela's Journal 2919 Posts
genetics stuff is not my strongest area but I'll try. 100% leu means that particular glider has no hets for any for any other color variation. Leu is a recessive gene so it needs to be paired with another glider with the same recessive gene to produce a leu joey.

hets are color variations that haven't presented physically but are in the family tree. So you can have a mosaic with leu hets, it looks like a mosaic but one of the parents looks like and is a leu. the hets kind of explain what the parents are and the off spring of those parents inherit part of those genes even if the fur color doesn't look like either of the parents.

Ok so if you see an ad like this
Sweet little Platinum Sugar Glider
100%leu het
50%cremeino het
Oop 01-16-2017

This means both parents had the same leu recessive gene so the joey got 50% from one and 50% from the other, and one of the parents was a creamino so the joey got half of that parents creamino het. The joey itself is a platnum, so it's a proven Plat with 100% leu het and 50% creamino het. Remember hets are colors that aren't showing.

I have a Plat joey from a 100% leu female and White face blonde with proven Plat hets proven because his joey is a plat, that is what proved out means.