Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
Worms in sugie cage
Worms in sugie cage
Health related
Jul 01 2017
04:34:29 PM
Has anyone went to clean out their sugie cage bedding etc. And found worms that look to be maggots or something similar to them, in your sugie cage around the area of the food and water?? This has never happened before that I've ever noticed and I'm not sure how concerned I should be about them or what to do to keep them from coming back
Health related
Jul 01 2017
05:34:54 PM
lilsistar Super Glider Visit lilsistar's Photo Album 293 Posts
I've never had that happen. I'm no expert but I think you should get your gliders checked by a vet. If they ate them they might get parasites or something. It's better to be safe than sorry.
Health related
Jul 01 2017
08:07:37 PM
Beenabeth Joey Visit Beenabeth's Photo Album USA 20 Posts
If only I knew of a vet anywhere near me. Honestly I don't think she has eaten any because when I feed her meal worms she is a fiend over them and goes crazy when I put them away, so I feel that if she had eaten any she would have freaked out and ate all of them. I hope that is the case anyways. She hasn't been acting any differently that I've noticed, she is still active and playful etc. So I think she is gonna be ok, thankfully.
Health related
Jul 02 2017
12:38:37 AM
I hope so too :)

Try to clean the cage and remove all of the worms. Maybe put the food and water up and hopefully it won't attract the worms?

I honestly have no idea what they are or why they are there. Best of luck!
Health related
Jul 02 2017
03:36:42 AM
sjusovare Face Hugger Visit sjusovare's Photo Album France 694 Posts
It's the bedding that I would remove, when they eat they throw food in it and the pee on it, it attracts flies which lay eggs there
Health related
Jul 02 2017
08:48:11 AM
jdching Face Hugger 807 Posts
I agree with sjusovare. Fly eggs hatch into maggots very fast.
Health related