Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
New glider..help!
New glider..help!
Question
Jul 13 2017
05:38:06 PM
I am not a newbie when it comes to sugar gliders, but this time around I really feel unprepared for the little guy we just brought home. He is 9 weeks old and anytime we put him in the pouch he goes MENTAL. Crabbing that goes on for ever, and if we move the pouch even the slightest he tries to ball up to attack, and then the pattern starts again, crabs and tries to attack. We have 3 other gliders, and I thought my 3 year old male was bad, but this is a whole new level. I know its still early, and he can take some time to bond, but I just need to hear some other stories for encouragement. When I got my male and female pair before, Gizmo the male did not trust me much at all, but he didn't try to attack me and my two little girls have always been very loving. So I feel completely unprepared as I have been very blessed with the gliders we have now. I wont give up on little Maverick...I just need advice!! lol
Question
Jul 13 2017
06:00:05 PM
BYK_Chainsaw Fuzzy Wuzzy Visit BYK_Chainsaw's Photo Album BYK_Chainsaw's Journal USA 1301 Posts
At 9 weeks old, I would maybe start with backing down for some days.
We just got a new rescue, 2 years old very crabby, very scared of us. He has been in his new larger cage. He has been alone in a room by himself for awhile before we got him. I have talked to him at night, given him a few treats, got a pet in on his head once.
Today after having him for a few weeks, we took him to the bathroom and let him run around the room. He was very very jumpy, but didn't bite, just lots of crabbing at times, he even walked on us a little bit.

So I would give him soon room for awhile, maybe start with a glider safe room visit and NOT a bonding pouch if he hates it that much. Talk to him in evening after he gets out.