Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
Suggestions please..
Suggestions please..
Question
Aug 15 2017
01:27:00 PM
Newbie here and I am hoping someone could help me buy the correct nail trimmer for my 3 gliders.

I did buy the exotic wheel with trimmer but am thinking that I should trim their nails before it arrives.

I am apprehensive about this as my gliders aren't bonded yet and I am afraid of doing it wrong; therefore, injuring them.

Any help is deeply appreciated
Question
Aug 15 2017
05:15:00 PM
TJones09 Goofy Gorillatoes Visit TJones09's Photo Album 3524 Posts
Hey, those nail trimmers that come with wheels is basically sand paper to help file the nails down. I've not had success with any of those type myself, and I tried a few different ones.

To trim their nails, it's easiest to use either slant-tip nail trimmers or cuticle trimmers, they both work well. I keep both handy, mostly using the slant-tip nail trimmers, and then use the cuticle trimmers if needed.

Most distract their gliders with treats such as yogies or whatever their favorite is. I use freeze dried vita-mealies from Camilies Mealies. My girls will just eat them from a dish while I trim all their nails, my boy will let me get away with a few, but I have to pouch him for the rest. There are videos on trimming their nails, I recommend to search trimming sugar glider nails on you tube and watch several to see the different methods used.