Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
HELP sugarglider has brownish pee
Health related
Sep 09 2018
02:11:52 PM
I have 2 sugargliders 1 fixed male and 1 female both about 5 yrs old. About a week ago I noticed there was brownish pee on the bottom tray so i went to wash it and the next night there was still brownish pee. They both look normal and are playing normal. Is this a problem or will it go away?
Health related
Sep 09 2018
04:04:44 PM
Kferg Face Hugger Visit Kferg's Photo Album 624 Posts
Hello!
I'm not an expert, this is just my opinion.

Brown pee doesn't sound normal, and if it were me I would check for dehydration. I would clean the cage and check it again tomorrow, and then if it's still happening schedule a vet appointment.

Other people who know more than me might want to know about their diet to gather more information before responding.
Health related
Sep 09 2018
04:33:39 PM
Dina431 Starting Member 9 Posts
I have cleaned it to check and it's still happening. What should I do if I cant get to a vet for a week or 2? Also you said check for dehydration how do I do that? I have 2 of the water bottles that hang on the cage so I know if they want water they can have it. Any other ideas of what I should do or what could be wrong?

Edited by - Dina431 on Sep 09 2018 04:35:33 PM
Health related
Sep 09 2018
05:14:39 PM
Kferg Face Hugger Visit Kferg's Photo Album 624 Posts
To check for dehydration gently pinch the skin together to form a "tent". If it stays like that, they're dehydrated. If it goes back down, not dehydrated.

Check to make sure those water bottles are working. Lots of people use the water silo instead of the water bottle because it doesn't get clogged and it's easy to see if they're running out.

It's really hard to guess about what's wrong without knowing more about the situation! Could the brown pee actually be diarrhea?