Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
Miniature glider ?
Miniature glider ?
Question
Oct 10 2018
07:42:54 AM
Ok, I know there’s no such thing as a miniature sugar glider- but I can’t find any references in any vet journal or publication about dwarfism in gliders either... as a medical professional, I completely understand the possibility of genetic mutation which results in a smaller that normal stature and that it’s completely possible in any animal. But have any of you ever seen one? A remarkably smaller than average glider that is?

Here’s why I ask... my female had twin girls. One of them was rejected approximately 3 weeks out of pouch. At that time she wasbmuvh smaller than her twin sister. But she seemed to be ok, and was developmentally hitting the right milestones- fur, walking, eyes opened when they should- etc etc. she was just super tiny. I wasn’t exactly surprised when she was rejected. I’ve never had a rejected Joey ever in the 11 years I’ve been involved in gliders and breeding. So she was my first and like any good mom- I took to the internet to research like crazy, and call every Vet I knew. In the end, I went with Suzs sugar gliders website advise. Ordered up her rejecred Joey formula and got to nursing a baby glider. Now 3 1/2 weeks later... we had a few touch and go moments in the beginning, but she is a strong healthy little girl. Completely spoiled. She hasn’t gained weight daily, at a whooping 1 gram increment... as of today she weighs 20 grams. And she is 2 1/3” long from butt to nose, and that’s flatting her out. If I measure her just as she sits normally, she’s 1 5/8” (measurements not including tail obviously)

She’s healthy and playful, has a personality and a half.