Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
tips for bonding with a now wary glider
Question
May 06 2021
11:22:50 AM
Hello, this is my first time posting so if I should look elsewhere for this answer, please let me know and I'll delete! I've been searching here for a while/lurking and haven't found exactly what I'm needing for my situation.

I got two new girls April 9 (Kiwi and Watermelon) and have been working with bonding with them since they got settled in a few days after. Kiwi has been fine, but Watermelon has been a bit less cooperative and I'm trying to not do anything to make my relationship with her worse. When I got her she was a little over 8 weeks oop, so I know her being so young can make things a little harder for her. I work from home so every day I will grab their pouch and have them hang out with me all/a majority of the day. 90% of the time they'll just sleep and I can pet both of them without any issues. They even make the cute popping sounds which I just think of as snoring haha. The times they do wake, Watermelon will start crabbing until she makes herself comfy again, and will go back to sleep pretty fast. She won't always crab and when she doesn't she'll just stare at me, get comfy and go back to sleep. But when she does crab it doesn't usually seem to be caused by anything (occasionally it is me shifting around), and just makes me thing she's cranky? This has been happening since I've gotten them, so I'm not surprised when she does this. When she does I'll just calmly talk to her until she settles.