Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Gliderpedia Discussion
help!
help!
Question
Jan 03 2016
05:17:33 PM
I have done a ton of research before purchasing my sugar glider. I have had her for a month so she is 12 weeks old. I have done everything by the book. Put shirts in there, carry her around in a bonding pouch, try to pet her, try to give her treats. I am a vet Tech at an animal rescue so I even have her with me at work or 8 hours a day in the bonding pouch. Problem is she hates me lol! She will not take treats from my hands even outside the cage. Even trying to get her in the bonding pouch is a nightmare she flies all over her cage. She wants absolutely nothing to do with me. I mean at all. I fully understand this is a process and can awhile to achieve, and I'm in the for the long haul, but shouldn't she of made some progress in a month even a little? I just want her to love me already. I'm ready to crawl in her pouch and force her to love me lol!
Question
Jan 03 2016
05:41:32 PM
Candy Cuddle Bear Visit Candy's Photo Album FL, USA 8110 Posts
She is young and if you have only one glider she may be missing her parents and the company of another glider. Gliders are colony animals and really do need the companionship of another glider. No matter how much time you spend with her you cannot meet the need for another glider to share grooming, share food, snuggle with while sleeping during the day or as a playmate when gliders are awake and active at night - while their human is sleeping.

Carrying her with you for 8 hours at work - while you are around other animals may not be the best way to win her trust.

First, gliders need several hours daily of uninterrupted sleep. If you are up moving around while she is trying to sleep she may not be getting any really sound sleep.

I would not be friendly if someone was shaking my bed around all night long while I tried to sleep.