GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
I need advice on Priscilla Price and Glider care
Food, Diet
Jan 31 2016
12:03:29 AM
***Glider advice***
So he is the story, I am a new sugar glider own of two gals who are approximately 1 year old; I have had them for about 3-4 weeks now.
Before I received them they were fed a pellet and a liquid mix that was baby food, honey and a few other things with fresh fruits and veggies.
When I took over, I was struggling on deciding on a diet and getting all of the ingredients for one. I was feeding them a variety of foods (mealworms, apples, carrots, grapes, yogurt, scrambled eggs [no shell], snap peas, while offering the same pellet food as a staple) - no supplement was used.
On Tuesday night (1/19) I noticed one of my gliders were making an odd sound while urinating- I didn't think much of this as I am new to these sounds. On the 20th I heard the sound again and looked up what it might be and found it was "hissing" which "hissing while urinating" is a sign of a UTI (urinary track infection) - I also noticed one of my gliders would walk kind of odd (just that she was taking long strides with her back leg) and I was TERRIFIED it was HLP (hind leg paralysis.)
On Thursday the 21st, I took them both to a vet that treats sugar gliders ($52 per glider to be seen initial cost) - I explained everything to them and that I was trying to get them on the Priscilla Price diet but that the supplement had not come in yet.
The vet tested the urine for ONE of the gliders as the other pee'd on the veterinarian.
The urine came back with "very low white blood cells" and "had protein in it."