Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
Question about easy diet plan
Food, Diet
Mar 19 2015
12:04:15 AM
So I recently got two sugar gliders about 1 1/2 weeks ago, and i'm still trying to find a simple, healthy, and reliable diet to use consistently. I don't plan on breeding, i just want these two little guys to be my pets. I'm looking for a diet as simple as possible. I found this diet called instant HPW, which you just add water, it sounds easy and up my alley but I would like to ask if it is nutritionally safe to use along with fruits/ vegetables. Also if i can use this, do i still need to feed mealworms, etc?
www.exoticnutrition.com/in8ozsi.html

I'm concerned i'm missing something in their diet at the moment so i'll throw up a rough outline here, please be gentle as i'm a total noob.

Every night i feed them a fruit or vegetable, such as celery, apples, sweet potato, cantaloupe, oranges, carrots, and kiwi. They liked all of them besides the kiwi, they were totally uninterested. Planning on getting blackberries and raspberries for the better cal/phos ratio
Should i only feed one type a night? Should i make a mix?

I also leave out for them 24/7 the pellet Vitakraft Vita Smart Sugar Glider Food. I also recently got a container of dried mealworms from lowes, and have left out roughly 15-20 at night, by morning they're usually wiped out. Should i leave out the dried mealworms? Should I use live instead and if so why? If dried is fine am i using a good amount?

I want suggestions to make this as easy as possible, i'm not looking to become the sugar glider's iron chef, just want them to be healthy.
Food, Diet
Mar 19 2015
07:39:56 AM
Leela Goofy Gorillatoes Gliderpedia Editor Visit Leela's Photo Album Leela's Journal 2919 Posts
Good morning and welcome to glider parenthood Ala Cuisine!!