Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
Best cage? (Debating between two)
Question
Jul 27 2019
10:07:22 PM
Hello, this is my first time posting here! I’m planning on getting 2 sugar gliders in a few months, so I am currently purchasing proper accessories and care items for them. However, I’m faced with a slight problem: a cage.

I found two different cages that I am interested in buying for the sugar gliders, but many of the reviews are mixed. Even though they have good ratings, I’d rather be safe than sorry. Here are the two cages: www.amazon.com/Prevue-Hendryx-485-Products-Hammertone/dp/B000QFMYWQ/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?keywords=two+level+cage&qid=1564282440&s=gateway&sr=8-1 ( I know there are levels to this cage but I would plan on removing them) and this cage: www.amazon.com/ZENY-Construction-Cockatiel-Cockatoo-Parakeet/dp/B075R7NGGK (I would remove bird perches)

I know both cages have their pros and cons, I want to see what experienced sugar glider owners would recommend for me to do. I’d really appreciate feedback, thank you! :)
Question
Jul 28 2019
12:23:25 AM
BYK_Chainsaw Fuzzy Wuzzy Visit BYK_Chainsaw's Photo Album BYK_Chainsaw's Journal USA 1301 Posts
cage 1 has 7/8 inch bar spacing. your glider will probably squeeze out and
have free roam around the room and house. it is a ferret cage.
1/2 inch bar spacing is about max allowed.

cage 2 is a bird cage. four feeder doors in not the best. bottom floor
look movable, if gliders move it they might be able to escape.

I suggest you stick with sugar glider cages.
Question
Jul 28 2019
01:13:04 PM
Strawberrymochi Starting Member 4 Posts
Oh okay, I thought it would be okay for the sugar gliders because there is a lot of space in the cages. Do you have any recommendations as to where I could get a proper sugar glider cage?
Question
Jul 29 2019
04:08:47 AM
BYK_Chainsaw Fuzzy Wuzzy Visit BYK_Chainsaw's Photo Album BYK_Chainsaw's Journal USA 1301 Posts
quote: