Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
Introducing older suggie w/ family of 5 suggies
Information
Jan 18 2008
12:27:17 AM
I'm picking up a new suggie to me & my 5 member suggies. Now, the parents, twin boys are feally laid back. Joey-girl is my biggest crabbing suggie in the bunch. I would like some advise / experience from other owners that have introduced new suggies to their families. I have some knowledge that it will be slow going. I know I have to set the cages together so the suggies can smell & touch each other. But can someone tell me about how long this may take before they will be able to get along. Now the suggie I'm getting is a older female, an at one time did have a partner. Is there anything speial I can do to make this intergation a little bit easier on all the suggies? I have bout 1 week to get all information I may need before this , little scare day will happen. Thanks to everyone.
Information
Jan 18 2008
09:23:22 AM
Ahsaehr Goofy Gorillatoes GliderMap Gliderpedia Editor Visit Ahsaehr's Photo Album Ahsaehr's Journal USA 3478 Posts
I'd wait until all the joeys are wean or mom will be extra protective and probably try to fight.

I actually find putting the cages next to each other a bad idea, it kind of makes them look at each other as rival colonies AND if you do do it anyway (some people say do it, some people don't) then don't make them touching. Gliders can still fight through cages and Kazko had a glider get a tail bitten off through a cage.

Honestly NOBODY can tell you how long it will take for them to get along, it has taken some people one introductin and they can put them together, but more commonly it takes a few months.

When you do go to introduce them you should do it one glider at a time or they'll gang up on your new guy, and don't just dump them in a cage do it in a bathroom or something and wear gloves to seperate a fight