Register Register New Posts Active Topics | Search Search | FAQ FAQ

GliderGossip GliderGossip
Sugar Gliders
Neutering
Neutering
Health related
May 03 2017
08:09:37 PM
I want to get my glider neutered. But I'm a little scared of the risks that can happen like chewing. Is there anything I can do stop him from doing that? I want to head prepred as I can be before I take him to the vet.
Health related
May 03 2017
09:29:38 PM
Blossom15 Starting Member Blossom15's Journal 6 Posts
Hey as a Veterinary Technician I high recommended you do a consult at a vet before neutering him and they can answer all your questions you may have.
hope this helps little
Health related
May 03 2017
09:38:03 PM
Coreymycat Joey Visit Coreymycat's Photo Album 36 Posts
I did talk to the vet but I was hoping that someone here who actually owns a sugar glider and have dealt with after care. I talked to him about those little jackets that some people put on their gliders or if there is a collar you can get them? All the vets that see gliders are two and half hours away. I already took him there yesterday.
Health related
May 03 2017
09:59:18 PM
lilsistar Super Glider Visit lilsistar's Photo Album 293 Posts
I neutered Finn back in September. My vet used glue instead of stitches. My little monster licked it off so he got stitches. He would pick on them, but I would stop him. I would do this by using my hand to prevent him from getting to the wound and make a taste sound. Yes, he did bite me very hard once. After the first day he stopped picking on it and it successfully healed.

I also neutered Aang a month or two ago. He was a gem. No complications at all.

Don't be scared about it. As long as you have an experienced vet you should be fine. As Blossom15 said you can ask the vet questions. They are very nice, helpful, and are more than happy to answer questions.
Health related
May 03 2017
11:42:01 PM
wildfire0135 Joey Visit wildfire0135's Photo Album 20 Posts