All Journals
Goldwinger's Journal
Update on My Rescue Jack and his Ladies...Milk Dud and Luna

May 7, 2009

 Update on My Rescue Jack and his Ladies...Milk Dud and Luna

It's 05/07/09, about 2 1/2 months since I rescued my Jack. He was rescued on 02/22/09 and was in such pitiful shape. He was eating bird food, his fur looked awful, he weighed 200 grams and he had over groomed himself completely bald on his head and he was ALONE.

I took him to the Vet, had him neutered, changed his diet to leadbeaters, fresh fruits and veggies; not frozen, (minus the corn) that I cut up everynight for them all, give him fresh cooked protein as well almost everynight too and he is just beautiful now. He gets Vionate Vitamins and Rep-Cal Calcium supplements and has a very good appetite.

I did introductions with my two girls Luna and Milk Dud and they took right to each other. They get along so well and they all seem very happy together.

Jacks hair is growing back, his fur looks much better and he has lost weight. I know he still has a long way to go but he looks so good I can hardly believe he's the same glider that I rescued. I watched him actually run in the wheel tonight. Use to be he could only walk in it because he was so over-weight and never got any exercise before. It was so cool seeing him actually run. He no longer waddles like a duck when he walks and can now jump and glide.

I can hardly wait to see what he looks like in another 2 1/2 months. I'm taking him to the Vet later today to get his nails trimmed. He's the only one I need to do it with for some reason.

I'm ordering quite a few nail trimmer tracks for my wodent wheel's. Each cage has two wheels in it now and I'm hoping that Jack will keep his nails trimmed down in one of them. I just got two more as each cage only had one in it and Luna is a wheel HOG. Maybe now Jack can get some exercise. My Vet gave me three wodent wheels and I've put two of them to good use. I'm debating what to do with the last one. Maybe just save it in case I get another glider and need one in the quarantine cage.

I hope to keep seeing good results with Jack as well as the others as I am still trying to get them bonded to me. If nothing else at least they are bonded to each other and I have plenty of time to work with them to get them to bomd to me. I have alot of patience and can do this at their pace. I try to always remember that baby steps are okay and just move forward everyday that I can.

Seeing Jack now compared to what he looked like just pushes me to try to convince people how important it is to get two gliders. They should never be alone to become depressed, sad, lonely and bored. Over-grooming is just the first step before self-mutilation.

Pictures of Jack and Luna and Milk Dud can be seen in my photo Album. God Bless and good health and happiness to all of our suggie babies.



 Comments

No comments.
Newer Entries  Older Entries
Cages  Cage Sets  Hammocks  Toys  Mealworms  Dubia Feeder  Art  Playpen  Genji Tent  Plushie  Wodent Wheel  Raptor  Books  Jewelry  Bird Toys 

 Navigate

Newer Entries  Older Entries
-----

 About Me

avatar Goldwinger
Gender: Female
Occupation:Asst. Manager in Auto Parts
-----
Member since: Nov 20, 2008
Posts: 1369
-----
My Pictures View my pictures!
GliderMap I'm on the map!
-----
Links
-----
My Hobbies
Motorcycle riding, Visiting the mountains of Blue Ridge and hiking, Horse Back riding, Playing with and enjoying our Rabbit and our Suggie babies Luna, Milk Dud, Lucas, Cosmo & Jack.
-----
My News
My husband bought me a 2008 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic motorcycle, brand new and I just love it. I took the Motorcycle Riders Safety Class and I ACED it. Scored 100% and beat out every man in the class. I felt so proud when the instructor announced it to the class and surprised me with the news and my temporary liscense. Hubby and I have made quite a few road trips together, me on my Vulcan and him on his Goldwing. The feeling of the freedom that comes with riding is just so wonderful. This is my stress reliever and everyday I can't wait until the next time I can get on my bike and go.
-----
My Bio
I am 52 years old, have three children, have been married for 23 years to my wonderful husband Ed. I have a son who's 29 and lives in MA. I have two daughters 21 and 16 who are at home. I love to go motorcycle riding with my husband. We have a great time together and sometimes get away for a weekend here or there to try and rekindle some romance in our relationship. I'm an assistant delivery sales manager at an auto parts store. It can be very stressful and sometimes feel more like a babysitter than a boss. My favorite place to get away to is the mountains for some hiking, horseback riding or just some site seeing of the wildlife and scenery.

 Stats

Page hits: 1097